Forman, North Dakota November 2, 2022

The Sargent County Board of Commissioners met for a Special Meeting at 9:02 a.m. with the following members present: Jason Arth, Lyle Bopp, Mark Breker, Scott Johnson and Richard Ruch. Also present was Pam Maloney, Sargent County Auditor; Jayne Pfau, State's Attorney; Wendy Willprecht, Emergency Manager/911 Coordinator; Travis Paeper, Sheriff; Patrick Fitzmorris, Tewaukon National Wildlife Refuge Manager; and Clint McLaughlin & Tyler Beaver, Forman Fire District Chief & Assistant.

The purpose of the meeting was to discuss whether a burn ban should be in place in Sargent County.

Chairman Jason Arth called the meeting to order.

Commissioner Ruch stated that he had talked to all the fire chiefs that had all or part of their fire district in Sargent County. They all stated that they would like a total burn ban put on in Sargent County. Ms. Willprecht stated that they could proclaim a total burn ban, or there could be a plan in place that those wanting to burn would have to call asking for permission before burning & it would be at the discretion of the fire chiefs in each district. Mr. McLaughlin stated that they had gone that route before & his phone rang steadily with inquiries for permission to burn. He really didn't want to do that again.

Mr. Fitzmorris stated that the refuge has six burn permit holders at this time, but they could be contacted if the county chose to proclaim a burn ban.

Jesse Maly, Rutland/Cayuga Fire Chief, arrived at the meeting.

Motion to proclaim an absolute burn ban in Sargent County until further notice. (Bopp/Ruch) Upon roll call vote, motion carried unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 9:22 a.m.

JASON ARTH– CHAIRMAN

ATTEST:

PAM MALONEY – COUNTY AUDITOR